About me

About me … Well …
As far as I can remember, I’ve always loved hanging around in my kitchen. I always loved its cosiness, this feeling that I belonged there.

This specific room was always a place where I spent a lot of time. I’m the oldest of 3 sisters. When I was 10, I started my cooking journey by heating the meals that my mum had prepared. I was supposed to make sure that they wouldn’t burn (it happened a few times !!). Then I started preparing actual meals. I remember once making bolognese sauce. My mum had prepared little boxes of spice. I was supposed to pour a bit of each but, guess what ? I poured all the contents and made probably the spiciest bolognese sauce ever cooked !!  This is where it all started.

Each time I had to study for my exams, I would take breaks and bake some bread, or a cake or even cook a boeuf bourguignon !!

Later, I was pregnant with my 3rd child, I couldn’t help having this super strong will to bake macarons. I had never made macarons before. So I tried once and failed terribly. The shells wouldn’t rise, they weren’t round shaped. I tried again and again. For the same miserable result each time. I used to seat in front of my oven, watching carefully my shells with both hope and fear in my eyes. My 5 year-old daughter used to come and, while holding me for support, she would say : Mum you failed again ! In the end, I gave birth to my little one, I hadn’t manage to make any macaron.

 

6 years later, I found THE RECIPE. One from Pierre Hermé (the least you can choose right ?). I decided to fight my worst fears and there ! Halleluiah ! The shells were perfect, round, with the distinctive collar. Taste was good ! The curse was finally broken !!

Back to the kitchen. This is where I feel I can give a little of myself each time I cook or bake. It is actually the room where so much of your life happens.

 

Time flies, I have an engineer degree diploma, I worked for big companies and travelled around the world, I got married, had 3 beautiful children … And then what ?

Today, I am tremendously proud to write those lines. I’m proud but also really scared. This is a new adventure, a new challenge for me : sharing a bit of myself through my posts, my cooking, my pics. And also accepting advices, remarks and my capability to transmit my passion.

So let’s do it ! Please give me as many comments as you like ! I’ll be waiting for them !

 

Si vous aimez, n'hésitez pas à liker sur Facebook

À propos de

À propos … de moi …
Depuis ma petite enfance, j’ai toujours été attirée par la cuisine, son côté chaleureux, familial, presque rassurant.

Aînée d’une fratrie de 3, j’ai vite fait de cet endroit une pièce majeure dans la maison. Dès l’âge de 10 ans, je suis passée du réchauffage de plats en faisant attention à ne pas tout faire brûler (c’est bien sûr arrivé !), à la réalisation partielle de repas (ce qui m’a valu de faire une sauce bolognaise dans laquelle j’ai mis l’intégralité des 5 mignonnettes d’épices que maman avait préparées … comment dire … c’était relevé !!), et enfin à la préparation de repas dans leur intégralité. C’est de là que c’est parti !

Le déclic pour la pâtisserie survient lorsque je suis enceinte pour la 3ème fois : je me prends d’une envie folle de faire des macarons. Je n’en avais jamais fait. Je me lance une première fois et loupe royalement les coques. Ça ne monte pas, les formes sont carrément irrégulières : gros ratage ! J’ai recommencé et raté, recommencé et raté. A tel point que ma fille aînée, qui me voyait assise à chaque fois sur un tabouret, regardant mon four avec une inquiétude mêlée d’espoir (vous me visualisez bien là avec mon ventre bien rond, les yeux scrutant le four ?), mettait sa main sur mon épaule et me disait à chaque fournée : « Maman, tu les as encore loupés ».  Ma plus jeune est née, je n’avais toujours pas réussi à faire le moindre macaron digne de ce nom.
Quelques années plus tard, armée d’une recette de Pierre Hermé (tant qu’à faire !!) j’ai réessayé et là, alléluia ! ça a croûté comme il fallait, la collerette était là et le goût était parfait !!

La cuisine. Pièce centrale de la maison, où tout se passe et où tu donnes un peu de toi à chaque réalisation. La cuisine, pièce où se jouent tant d’épisodes de ta vie, de ma vie.

 

Les années ont filé, un diplôme d’ingénieur en poche, des jobs exigeants dans l’industrie, des voyages, un mariage, 3 enfants … Et puis quoi ?

Aujourd’hui je suis fière d’écrire ces quelques lignes qui m’enthousiasment autant qu’elles me font peur. Je me lance dans une nouvelle aventure, un nouveau défi : partager ma passion, mon envie, donner un peu de moi à chaque article, à chaque préparation, à chaque photo. Mais aussi accepter la critique et les challenges de la transmission.

Alors allons-y ! A très vite pour vos commentaires !

 

Si vous aimez, n'hésitez pas à liker sur Facebook